​Institution calls for nominations for exceptional engineers

​Institution calls for nominations for exceptional engineers

The Institution of Mechanical Engineers is calling for nominations for this year’s Prestige Awards with prizes on offer worth about £20,000.

The Prestige Awards champion engineers who have improved the world, or advanced the discipline of engineering both through professional and volunteering efforts.

Dr Jenifer Baxter, Head of Engineering at the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, said:

“The Prestige Awards are open to people working in academia, industry as well as in volunteer roles, and are a fantastic opportunity to honour engineers working to improve the world we live in.”

This year’s awards are:

The James Clayton Prize

Prize: Up to £10,000 plus certificate

Awarded to a member(s) of the Institution who contributes most in that year (or over recent years) to modern engineering science – by way of research, invention, experimental work, a paper on a modern engineering subject, originality in engineering design or by service to engineering.

The James Watt International Gold Medal

The premier international award of the Institution is awarded biennially to an eminent engineer who has attained world-wide recognition in mechanical engineering in any direction – science and research, invention or production.

The Alastair Graham-Bryce Award

Prize: £5,000 and trophy

Prize(s) awarded to an individual or group making a significant contribution to the encouragement of young people towards a career in engineering.

The Verena Winifred Holmes Award

Prize: £1,500 cash prize plus certificate

The Verena Winifred Holmes Award (previously the Equality and Diversity Award) is intended to recognise those individuals who have achieved by undertaking a unique challenge or experience, perhaps to benefit people from groups with different needs, or with a past record of disadvantage or low participation.

The Award for Risk Reduction in Mechanical Engineering

Prize: £1,500 cash prize plus certificate

This award recognises any eminent engineer who has contributed most in the understanding and/or reduction of risk in any area of mechanical engineering.

The Thomas Hawksley Gold Medal and George Stephenson Gold Medal

Awarded for the best original papers published by the Institution in the past 12 months.

Find out more: Prestige Awards 2018

Winners will be presented with their awards at the Institution’s Annual Dinner in Autumn 2018.